metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Fresh Pressed [new music friday] – 272

What better way to kick off a weekend than with new music? Fridays are always chock full of the latest songs and albums ready to be the soundtrack to everyone’s antics, and here you’ll find some of the week’s standout releases. Whether you’re ready to spin an anticipated song from a favorite artist or just take a look at what’s out there, there are a whole lot of tunes to dive right into. Who knows—maybe you’ll find your next obsession.

The Artist in the Ambulance – Revisited

Some bands celebrate an album anniversary by re-releasing it and throwing on a couple of demos and live tracks at the end. Thrice goes and re-records the whole damn thing. For the 20th anniversary of their classic, The Artist in the Ambulance, Thrice went back into the studio to slap a fresh coat of paint on these tunes and brought some friends along the way. Architects and Hot Water Music are just some of the features included here, and ultimately it’s the definitive way of experiencing this record for the first time or the hundredth.

Mod Sun
God Save the Teen

Mod Sun had a busy 2022 with his four singles and a couple of features. His new album has none of those songs. It’s kinda crazy releasing an LP with nothing released beforehand but that speaks to the faith he has in the project as a whole. God Save the Teen is a continuation of his chokehold on pop-punk and, of course, includes plenty of collabs with his wife Avril Lavigne. Going into an album without hearing anything from it first makes for a fun experience. Maybe others should follow suit.

“Bone Church”

Slipknot’s The End, So Far was just the start of a new beginning. The band has released a standalone single in the form of “Bone Church”, which came into fruition just from hanging out backstage during their shows. It’s certainly not the hardest song in Slipknot’s discography but there’s always a place for them to switch it up when they feel like it.

“Lay Low”

Things may finally be kicking into gear for Underøath frontman Spencer Chamberlain and his pop side-project slo/tide. More than a year after releasing his first song, his second single finally arrives: “Lay Low” is a shimmering, synth-born banger equipped with a beautiful falsetto chorus. Hopefully, a third song isn’t too far away.

Owl City
“Adam, Check Please”

Owl City follows up his ambitious “Kelly Time” single with one that’s even bigger in scale and longer, too. Gone are the days of simple to-the-point pop songs from Adam Young, at least for now, because the new “Adam, Check Please” is another narrative-driven tune that’s an ode to his first job at a grocery store (fortunately, he found his calling elsewhere).


Just when you think you have nothing,nowhere. figured out, he goes and pulls something like “THIRST4VIOLENCE”. Off his new album out next month, the latest hip-hop/nu-metal crossover brings along rapper Freddie Dredd and metalcore heroes Silverstein for an unlikely collaboration that somehow just works.

Stand Atlantic

Even though the title might suggest otherwise, “kill[h]er” is not the ear-pulverizing brand of rock that Stand Atlantic has gotten listeners accustomed to—rather, it almost heads back to Pink Elephant territory with its poppier feel, showing off the band’s ability to mold themselves to either style.

“How to Ruin Everything (Patience)”

Bayside frontman Anthony Raneri calls “How to Ruin Everything (Patience)” a “f**in’ wild song.” You immediately understand why once you hit play: It’s outrageously fun but aggressive all at the same time, which is kind of Bayside’s calling card. More notably, it features Ice Nine Kills’ frontman Spencer Charnas—but this is still a Bayside song through and through.

Invent Animate
“Immolation of Night”

“Immolation of Night” is Invent Animate putting listeners into a musical bodybag. The new track wastes no time getting into the thick of things—massive, chugging guitars overtake the instrumentation while their intense screams sound exactly like fans would expect them to.

Other new releases:
Ellie Goulding – “Like a Saviour”
Skrillex – “Xena”
Betty Who – “Running Up That Hill”
Currents – “Remember Me”
Shania Twain – Giddy Up! (read our review)
Anne-Marie – “SAD B!TCH”
Marshmello – “Unity”
ABISHA – “Masterpiece”
Jonas Blue & Felix Jaehn – “Weekends”
Maluma – “La Formula (feat. Marc Anthony)”
PinkPantheress & Ice Spice – “Boy’s a Liar Pt. 2”


Related Content

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more