*now playing*


First Ever Woman Named as President of Island Records

Island Def Jam Music Group President and CEO Lyor Cohen today announced the promotion of Julie Greenwald to President of Island Records. Greenwald had until this appointment served as Senior Vice President of marketing for The Island Def Jam Music Group. Also as part of this announcement, Cohen has named Greenwald and Def Jam/Def Soul Records President Kevin Liles to the additional positions of Executive Vice Presidents of The Island Def Jam Music Group. As President of Island, Greenwald will oversee all aspects of the label, which serves as the rock and pop division of The Island Def Jam Music… Read more »


Mariah Signs With Island/Def Jam, Records With JD

That new album Mariah Carey has been recording on the down low has finally landed a home… on her own label. The Universal Music Group announced Wednesday (May 8) that they have signed the biz’s most highly touted free agent to a new deal that will see one of its branches, the Island/Def Jam Music Group, distribute the music released by Carey’s yet-to-be-named company. “I’m incredibly happy,” Carey said in a statement. “It’s a tremendous and unprecedented opportunity to be working in tandem with [Universal Music Group Chairman/CEO] Doug [Morris], [Island/Def Jam President/CEO] Lyor [Cohen] and [Interscope Geffen A&M Chairman]… Read more »


Island Def Jam Score 4 Records in the Country's Top 10

Following its unprecedented 49 Grammy Award nominations, The Island Def Jam Music Group continues its winning momentum this week with four records in the Top 10 of the nation’s Top Albums chart (source: Soundscan). Propelling this success were the multiplatinum releases from Ludacris (Word of Mouf; no.4), Nickelback (Silver Side Up, no.5), Ja Rule (Pain Is Love; no.6) and the hit soundtrack to O Brother, Where Art Thou (no.10). The Island Def Jam Music Group also scored thirteen albums in the Top 100 with releases from seminal hip-hop artist JAY-Z (MTV Unplugged), alternative rockers Hoobastank (Hoobastank), country icon Willie Nelson… Read more »


Triple Crown Records signs North Korea

Triple Crown Records has signed Long Island quartet North Korea. The band is currently in the studio with producer Mike Sapone working on a full length release that will be out on the label later this year.


Bayside signs to Wind-Up Records

Long Island-based punk quartet Bayside has signed a “360 deal” with New York City-based indie Wind-Up Records, home to Cartel, Hawthorne Heights and others.

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more