metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Unwritten Law Return With 'Here's To The Mourning' On February 2005

New York – San Diego veteran rockers, Unwritten Law return to the limelight with Here’s To The Mourning, the band’s long-awaited, new studio album which is scheduled for release on Lava Records February, 2005. Considered by many to be one of the founding fathers of the Southern California punk/skate scene, Unwritten Law continue to push the envelope while maintaining their credibility as one of the most successful bands to break out of the late 90’s SoCal arena. The band’s new album is undoubtedly one of the most highly anticipated, pure rock n’ roll records to be released in the New Year.

Here’s To The Mourning, Unwritten Law’s sixth studio album, was produced by Sean Beavan (Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson); with additional production provided by Josh Abraham (Velvet Revolver, Staind.) The album was recorded at Glenwood Studios in Burbank, California. The disc features a total of twelve all new tracks including the album’s radio-ready, first single “Save Me.” The introspective track was co-written by Unwritten Law and acclaimed tunesmith/musician Linda Perry. The single, which shows a darker side to the band, will unquestionably relate to fans with lyrics such as I’m a death threat / Haven’t slept yet / Baby why the wake up call / I’m the bad boy / Tell the tabloids / Everything’s my fault.

Outstanding cuts on the album include the infectious track “I Like The Way,” and “She Said,” both which perfectly compliment frontman Scott Russo’s raspy vocals. Additional highlights from the album include the bass thumping “Celebration Song,” the hard-hitting, ball-buster track “F.I.G.H.T” and “Walrus,” which shows the band’s growth as songwriters.

Here’s To The Mourning is Unwritten Law’s official follow up to the bands breakthrough album Elva, which spawned the #1 Modern Rock Track “Seein’ Red.” The album sold upwards of 400,000 albums and caught the attention of the producers from the acclaimed MTV series Music In High Places. Unwritten Law appeared on the show, whose audio tracks were later released as an acoustic album on Lava Records. The critically acclaimed disc, From Music In High Places was released in early 2003.

Unwritten Law is Scott Russo on vocals/guitar; Pat Kim on bass; Steve Morris on guitar; Rob Brewer on guitar; and newly added drummer Tony Palermo. The band are currently touring the U.S., offering low cost, $10 tickets to their fans. The tour kicked off at the legendary rock n’ roll club CBGB’s and will continue on through Mid-December. For more information, go to www.unwrittenlaw.com.

Unwritten Law will be breaking all the rules in the following cities near you.

  • 11/04 New York, NY CBGB’s
  • 11/30 Orangevale, CA The Boardwalk
  • 12/01 Bakersfield, CA Montgomery World Plaza
  • 12.03 La Jolla, CA UCSD Price Center Ballroom
  • 12/04 Ventura, CA Majestic Ventura Theatre
  • 12/05 Las Vegas, NV House of Blues
  • 12/09 Portland, OR KNRK Show – Chrystal Ballroom
  • 12/10 Chicago, IL Metro
  • 12/11 Detroit, MI Shelter
  • 12/12 Cleveland, OH Odeon
  • 12/13 Towson, MD Recher Theatre
  • 12/14 Philadelphia, PA Theatre of Living Arts
  • 12/15 Hoboken, NJ Mawells
  • 12/16 Boston, MA Axis
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more