metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


The Island Def Jam Music Group Signs Everlast

The Island Def Jam Music Group has signed multi-platinum recording artist, Everlast, it was announced today. Everlast is currently in the studio working on his third studio album (Title: TBD) tentatively set for an early 2004 release. The album, which is being recorded in L.A. and NYC, features Everlast co-executive producing with longtime friend and collaborator Dante Ross. “I am excited to be part of the Island Def Jam family,” says Everlast. “I look forward to a long lasting relationship with Island Def Jam that will result in much success over the years to come.” “Everlast is an incredible artist that writes really important songs,” stated Lyor Cohen, Chairman and CEO of the Island Def Jam Music Group, “Any label that listens to music would be so proud to have Everlast as part of their family of artists; I am thrilled to welcome him to ours.”

(Photo: NewsCom: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20030919/NYF069 )

Everlast (born Erik Schrody) shot to fame in the early 90’s as leader of the pioneering hip hop group, House Of Pain. Featuring the huge crossover hit, “Jump Around”, House of Pain topped the charts with its platinum-selling self-titled debut. House of Pain released two more albums, Same As It Ever Was and Truth Crushed To Earth Shall Rise Again before deciding to call it quits in 1996. Everlast went solo in 1998, releasing his acclaimed, “Whitey Ford Sings The Blues, a largely acoustic, genre-crossing, hip hop flavored album. Everlast was once again at the top of the charts. The album featured the hit single, “What It’s Like” and went on to sell over 2.5 million copies. Whitey Ford Sings The Blues showcased Everlast’s talent as a songwriter and multi-dimensional artist which was further demonstrated on the album’s follow-up, 2000’s Eat At Whitey’s. In addition, Everlast wrote “Put Your Lights On” a song he performed with Carlos Santana on his legendary comeback album, Supernatural. The song won them a Grammy for Best Rock Performance By a Duo or Group at the 1999 Grammy Awards.

The Island Def Jam Music Group is home to a multi-cultural and diverse family of artists and has fast become one of the most successful labels in the industry. It is comprised of Island Records, Def Jam Recordings and Def Soul, and is in partnerships with American Recordings, Lost Highway Records, Roc-A-Fella Records, Murder Inc, Bloodline Records and Roadrunner Records. The roster boasts an array of talented artists including Jay-Z, Bon Jovi, Mariah Carey, Ludacris, Ashanti, Everlast, Ryan Adams, Nickelback, Musiq, Slipknot, Thursday, Method Man, Thrice, Hoobastank, Ja Rule, Sum 41, Slayer, Kelly Price, Saliva and DMX.

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more