metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


MxPx Do "Everything" New

MxPx will release Before Everything and After, their first album in three years, on August 19th. The album has been delayed twice before: first because of mastering issues, and a second time while the band changed the sequencing.

“It’s Metallica time,” jokes drummer Yuri Ruley about the extended gap between records.

“We’ve put out thirteen brand new recordings since our last full release,” frontman Mike Herrera explains. “That’s almost a full album.” The Renaissance EP included nine of those songs, two more new tunes were added to the greatest hits collection Ten Years and Running and two were on a seven-inch single.

Before Everything and After, produced by Dave Jerden [Jane’s Addiction, Offspring] pushes MxPx beyond their punk-pop roots. “There was more of a constant effort on this one to do different things,” guitarist Tom Wisniewski reports. “There’s a lot more up and a lot more down. There’s some, I don’t want to say exploration, but new ground that we’re trying to cover.”

That’s evident in the slinky “Kings of Hollywood” and the ballad “Quit Your Life.” Of course, there are the more classic MxPx numbers such as the lead single, “Well Adjusted,” and “Brokenhearted,” but Herrera senses that old and new fans alike will be more open to a varied album. “Today’s audience is used to hearing artists branch out a bit more than they have in the past,” he says. “Pink has a hip-hop song and a rock song and a ballad. We’ve been sort of afraid to break out of our somewhat smaller spectrum of rock & roll, punk rock and melodic punk rock. On this record, we just said screw it – make some songs and see what happens.”

MxPx hit the road on an opening stint for Dashboard Confessional starting August 30th.

Before Everything and After track listing:

  • Play It Loud
  • Well Adjusted
  • It’s Alright
  • Brokenhearted
  • First Day of the Rest of Your Life
  • Everything Sucks
  • Quit Your Life
  • More Everything
  • Kings of Hollywood
  • The Capitol
  • On the Outs
  • Don’t Walk Away
  • You Make Me, Me
  • You’re Not Alone
  • After

MxPx Tour Dates:

  • 8/30 – Pittsburgh, A.J. Palumbo Center
  • 8/31 – Norfolk, VA, The NorVa
  • 9/2-3 – Philadelphia, Electric Factory
  • 9/4-5 – New York, Roseland
  • 9/6 – Lowell, MA, Paul E. Tsongas Arena
  • 9/7 – Washington, DC, Bender Arena
  • 9/9 – Raleigh, NC, Disco Rodeo
  • 9/10 – North Myrtle Beach, SC, House of Blues
  • 9/11 – Atlanta, Tabernacle
  • 9/12 – Lake Buena Vista, FL, House of Blues
  • 9/14 – Pompano Beach, FL, Pompano Beach Amphitheater
  • 9/16 – Houston, Verizon Wireless Theater
  • 9/17 – Austin, Stubb’s Barbeque
  • 9/18 – Grand Prairie, TX, Next Stage at Grand Prairie
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more