metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


The Get Up Kids Celebrate 25 Years of ‘Something to Write Home About’

The Get Up Kids Something to Write Home About
Photo By: Shawn Brackbill

Has it really been 25 years since The Get Up Kids released Something to Write Home About? Time to feel old, apparently! The band has announced a deluxe reissue of the record that has been remastered and expanded to include rare demos and previously unreleased tracks. Something to Write Home About (25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) drops August 23 and to further the celebration, The Get Up Kids have given fans two new music videos today.

The first is an immensely nostalgic music video for “Holiday“, directed by Shawn Brackbill. It showcases never-before-seen tour footage from the time surrounding the original album. Watching the video feels like hopping in a time machine to a place many of us recall fondly and vividly. The other is for the demo version of “Holiday.”

Read More: Knuckle Puck Give “Stick Season” A Pop-Punk Makeover

“The biggest takeaway from watching this video is how young we were. It’s like watching your parents’ home movies of you riding a big wheel in the backyard. Just babies. A lot of these are from a time when the record was finished but people hadn’t really heard it yet,” frontman Matt Pryor shares.

He continues, “We’d just spent a long, frustrating year trying to get it made and when it finally saw the light of day we just came out swinging. I remember a lot of these shows, The Fireside Bowl in Chicago particularly. That always felt like a home away from home for us back then. The kids onstage in these videos really have no idea how much this album will change their lives, that we’ll still be talking about it twenty-five years later.”

Read More: Roe Kapara Announces ‘Big Cigars and Satin Shorts’ EP & Drops “Dumb”

“When we set out to write what would become the album Something to Write Home About, I never imagined all the places it would take us. From touring around the world, being on MTV’s 120 Minutes, to opening for childhood heroes. When I listen back to these demos it takes me right back to our practice space in Kansas City. We were so young, but we were driven to make something great,” Pryor reflects.

“When we walked into that LA studio, we were very prepared. This was the first time we actually made real demos for a record and I think it shows in the final product.” 

Check out the tracklist below and pre-order Something to Write Home About (25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) here.


1. Holiday 
2. Action & Action 
3. Valentine 
4. Red Letter Day 
5. Out of Reach 
6. Ten Minutes 
7. The Company Dime 
8. My Apology 
9. I’m a Loner Dottie, a Rebel 
10. Long Goodnight 
11. Close to Home
12. I’ll Catch You


1. One Year Later (Demo)
2. Close to Home (Demo)
3. Out of Reach (Demo)
4. Holiday (Demo)
5. Valentine (Demo)
6. My Apology (Demo)
7. Red Letter Day (Demo)
8. Ten Minutes (Demo)
9. Central Standard Time (Four Track Demo)
10. Long Goodnight (Four Track Demo)
11. The Company Dime (Four Track Demo)
12. I’ll Catch You (Four Track Demo)

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more