metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Slipknot’s Corey Taylor Issues Blistering Solo Track “Beyond”

Corey Taylor Spring 2023
[Photo by: Pamela Littky]

We could go “on and on and on” about Corey Taylor, the renowned vocalist who has led Slipknot and Stone Sour to massive success over the last 20 years. On the verge of his newly-announced sophomore solo album, CMF2, expected to arrive on Sept. 15, Taylor has issued the captivating new single “Beyond.” The track showcases Taylor‘s versatility as an artist, delving into a more melodic and introspective territory compared to his heavier, metal-driven endeavors.

The song immediately transports listeners to a realm of contemplatation and unity that seems forgotten in our modern society. Taylor‘s distinctive vocals, brimming with emotion and unrestricted intensity, intertwine with the instrumentation, creating an immersive and captivating sonic landscape. With each passing moment, the song gains momentum, fueled by cascading layers of guitars and drums that enrich its musical tapestry. Taylor’s vocal prowess effortlessly transitions between delicate, vulnerable verses and resounding, euphoric choruses, leaving an indelible mark.

Watch: Beauty School Dropout And jxdn Perform “FREAK UNPLUGGED” Live At The idobi Studios

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Taylor reveals, “I originally wrote it as an aggressive romantic song, but I’m also looking at it now as a kind of ‘come together’ song. Bringing the masses together and letting them know that I want my music to take them beyond what they may think about me. Maybe they’ve had a misconception about me. It’s not exactly a calling card, more like throwing the bat signal up and being, ‘All right, let’s turn everything on its head.’ It’s almost a dual threat because now I look at it from two standpoints.”

Check out Corey Taylor’s captivating, introspective video for “Beyond” below.

In addition to the new track and album announcement, Taylor will embark on a 28-show tour, including performances at Rocklahoma, Louder Than Life, and Aftershock, with special guests Wargasm, OXYMORRONS, and LUNA AURA. You can preorder CMF2 here and grab tickets today at 12 PM ET/9 AM PT here.

Tour Dates:

  • Aug. 25—Denver, CO @ The Fillmore Auditorium
  • Aug. 27—Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theater
  • Aug. 28—Minneapolis, MN @ The Fillmore Minneapolis
  • Aug. 30—Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Ballroom
  • Aug. 31—Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
  • Sept. 2—Chesterfield, MO @ The Factory
  • Sept. 3—Pryor, OK @ Rocklahoma 2023
  • Sept. 5—Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore
  • Sept. 7—Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues Cleveland
  • Sept. 9—Cincinnati, OH @ The Andrew J Brady Music Center
  • Sept. 10—Alton, VA @ Blue Ridge Rock Festival 2023
  • Sept. 12—Montclair, NJ @ The Wellmont Theater
  • Sept. 13—Boston, MA @ House of Blues Boston
  • Sept. 15—Wallingford, CT @ The Dome at Toyota Oakdale Theatre
  • Sept. 16—Huntington, NY @ The Paramount
  • Sept. 18—North Myrtle Beach, SC @ House of Blues Myrtle Beach
  • Sept. 19—Lake Buena Vista, FL @ House of Blues Orlando
  • Sept. 21—Huntsville, AL @ Mars Music Hall
  • Sept. 22—Louisville, KY @ Louder Than Life Festival 2023
  • Sept. 24—Houston, TX @ House of Blues Houston
  • Sept. 25—Dallas, TX @ House of Blues Dallas
  • Sept. 27—Albuquerque, NM @ Revel Entertainment Center
  • Sept. 28—Tempe, AZ @ Marquee Theatre
  • Sept. 29—Henderson, NV @ The Dollar Loan Center
  • Oct. 1—San Diego, CA @ House of Blues
  • Oct. 3—Riverside, CA @ Riverside Municipal Auditorium
  • Oct. 5—Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
  • Oct. 7—Sacramento, CA @ Aftershock Festival
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more