metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Matty Healy Joins The Japanese House On “Sunshine Baby”

The Japanese House Spring 2023 [Photo by: Jay Seba]
[Phot by: Jay Seba]

Amber Bain‘s brainchild, The Japanese House, has unveiled the shimmering and captivating single “Sunshine Baby,” featuring guest vocals from The 1975‘s Matty Healy. The track previews The Japanese House‘s forthcoming full-length album, titled In The End It Always Does, scheduled for release on June 30 through Dirty Hit.

Accompanying the release is an enchanting live video directed by Sheila Johansson. “Sunshine Baby” immerses listeners in a hazy, dream-like soundscape, adorned with lush instrumentation and expertly crafted synths. Bain’s ethereal vocals glide effortlessly across the music, intertwining seamlessly with Healy‘s wistful vocal performance. Together, they create a cascade of mesmerizing melodies against a backdrop of melancholic strings, transcendent guitar lines, and steady percussion, further amplifying the dreamy and atmospheric ambiance.

Read more: Boys Like Girls Announce New Music With Touching Message

Bain shares the inspiration behind the song, explaining that “Sunshine Baby” is a nickname for her dog, and it reflects moments spent with her ex on the beach, embodying a sense of carefree joy. “My ex and I always used to lay on the beach together being sunshine babies,” Bain shares. “The chorus is kind of a submission to the end of our relationship, but singing it in a positive light. There’s a transience in every part of a relationship and in the circle of everything it comes back around.”

“Sunshine Baby” is a testament to The Japanese House‘s ability to craft ethereal and emotionally resonant music. The combination of Bain and Healy’s vocals, along with the intricate instrumentation, creates a captivating sonic experience. With its introspective lyrics and captivating melodies, the single will leave listeners eagerly anticipating the release of In The End It Always Does. Immerse yourself in the enchanting sounds of “Sunshine Baby” below.

The Japanese House’s new album In The End It Always Does is available to preorder here. Check out the full tracklist of Bain’s forthcoming release below.

In the End It Always Does Tracklisting:

  1. Spot Dog
  2. Touching Yourself
  3. Sad to Breathe
  4. Over There
  5. Morning Pages
  6. Boyhood
  7. Indexical reminder of a morning well spent 
  8. Friends
  9. Sunshine Baby
  10. Baby goes again
  11. You always get what you want
  12. One for sorrow, two for Joni Jones
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more