metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Have Mercy Find Themselves Stuck In The “Middle” On New Song

have mercy 2023
[Photo via: Keeyahtay Lewis]

Ahead of their full album release, Have Mercy is sharing a bouncy new song and accompanying music video with retro visuals for “Middle.”

You can catch this new track, as well as their October release “Alive” on NUMB, their full-length record arriving December 8 via Rude Records. So, if you have been waiting for new Have Mercy since their August 2022 self-titled EP, your time is almost here. In the meantime, here’s one more track to enjoy before December arrives. Check out “Middle” below.

Vocalist Brian Swindle says, “‘Middle’ is about being in between two places. Knowing you want or need one thing but going back to something because it feels familiar and comfortable. I think it’s one of the more fun songs on the record. There’s not much to it but that fun chorus hook.”

Read more: Softcult Will “Haunt You Still” On New Shoegaze Track

As the group prepares for their first full-length release since 2019’s The Love Life, Swindle adds on behalf of the writing and recording process, “The best music Have Mercy has written and released are the songs that happen organically. The songs that aren’t forced or influenced by people outside of the group. This record was just us three guys writing music because we enjoy it. It’s a challenge to write something cool. Lyrically, the record had no choice but to be influenced by my sobriety, new marriage, and repairing/disconnecting from relationships with people. Over the last couple of years, there have been a lot of changes. We’ve all had to face demons and come to grips with what our realities are and how to sustain a healthier lifestyle.” 

He continues, “We wrote and recorded the majority of this record in my basement. It’s truly a homegrown record, and to me, it feels very reminiscent of our first record, The Earth Pushed Back. It’s a band again, a group effort. I’m really happy that we’re all in each other’s lives again.”

[‘NUMB’ Artwork]

NUMB Tracklist:

  1. Alive
  2. Numb
  3. Hey
  4. Friday
  5. Big Surprise
  6. Middle
  7. I Can’t Stay
  8. Sick Of It
  9. Hit The Ground
  10. Floating

Pre-orders for NUMB are currently available here.

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more