metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Ghost Atlas Releases New Single “Lesser God,” Announces Album

Ghost Atlas Fall 2023
[Photo via UNFD]

Last week, Jesse Cash, the mastermind behind Ghost Atlas, celebrated the six year anniversary of his 2017 full-length album, All Is In Sync, And There’s Nothing Left To Sing About. Amidst celebrations of the release, Cash shared on Instagram, “I haven’t released a full-length album as Ghost Atlas since, which is nuts. But, I wrote and recorded a new one, and it’s about time to hand it over to you.”

He continued, “So much has changed about myself and my approach to songwriting since making this, and it’s been fun to listen back today and reflect on that. After all these years of doing Ghost Atlas when I can, it’s still so cathartic for me to make these songs, and after a long hibernation, I’m feeling energized to start it back up once more.”

Today, Cash’s Ghost Atlas unveiled the alt-rock project’s highly anticipated full-length release titled Dust Of The Human Shape. The album’s first powerful preview arrives in the form of Ghost Atlas’ new single “Lesser God.” Scheduled for release on January 26, 2024, via UNFD, the album marks a significant milestone as Ghost Atlas‘ first full-length project not released independently. Across its 12 tracks, Dust Of The Human Shape delves into Cash’s profound zeal and convictions, inviting listeners to forge their own stirring connections and interpretations. It serves as a synthesis of art and intense human emotions, drawing inspiration from a spectrum of Cash’s life experiences.

Dust Of The Human Shape Tracklisting:

  1. Void Voyeur
  2. Panorama Daydream
  3. Lesser Gods
  4. Gaps In The Armoire
  5. Seeker (Stretch The Night)
  6. Riding The Blindside
  7. Tomato Red
  8. Polyphonic Mind
  9. Bedsheet Tourniquet
  10. Dust Of The Human Shape
  11. In The House Of Leaves
  12. Death Confetti

According to Cash, inspiration struck for “Lesser God” when he set out to create a song centered around “a singular chord progression.” 

“I play with this idea on a few songs on the record,” he shares. “It just keeps your ear very locked into the vibe while challenging me to find other creative ways to introduce dynamic. In the case of this song, the most notable means is the time signature change in the bridge, when the rhythm progression switches to 7 beats per bar. It’s a little bit of trick I’m playing on the ear to bring some technicality and tension into the song. While the timing changes, the chord progression remains exactly the same to alleviate the change feeling forceful or distracting.”

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more