metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


DEAR-GOD Drops Satirical Emo Hyperpop Album “The Punchline”

Photo via Robert Ortiz

DEAR-GOD mixes so many genres together it is honestly impressive how well it all works. Ranging from modern hyperpop, to soundcloud emo-rap, to alternative punk, the entire sonic experience is still somehow rooted in heavy rock. It’s weird, aggressive, and undeniably unique. It is also very cool. This week DEAR-GOD released his debut full-length album, The Punchline via Dine Alone Records.

On his most recent track, DEAR-GOD shares: My latest track, “Good Person,” is about moral authority and pacifism. When I have a serious issue with someone due to their harmful actions, I try to seek a just punishment. Some people have called me crazy for how I react, but it’s all I’ve ever been taught. It’s influenced by the violence I’ve been shown throughout my life, and I react based on how I would expect people to react to me doing those same things. I personally believe there is a societal problem of not stepping forward and taking enough action. That’s why people continue to fuck shit up.

Speaking on the album as a whole, he continues: “The Punchline is an introspective album full of intermingled political satire. I tried to deliver my raw emotions through a filter of humor. I’ve always been one to laugh at myself and the bullshit around me because in the end that’s the only thing you can do. I feel as though this album captures my turbulent past few years as I’ve grown into adulthood. It’s a huge privilege that I have to be able to write and express my experience through song and I hope people can find solace in relating to what I have to say. The world is a confusing place. Be yourself and let people know how you feel.

Check out the album art, track listing and most recent music video below!

Read More: Ashnikko Is A Post-Apocalyptic Warrior In “WEEDKILLER”

The Punchline tracklist:

  1. Mentiroso
  2. Mowin’ The Lawn
  3. Good Person
  4. Livin’ In The Present
  5. Throwin’ The Game
  6. Bad Day
  7. Weaponize This
  8. Copiapó (feat. Clairmont The Second)
  9. The Dungeon (feat. DoFlame)
  10. Bullshit World
  11. Eraser
  12. Lakeshore

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more