*now playing*


Warner Bros.' Prints On Prince's Music Again

The man who once wrote “slave” across his face to protest the way Warner Bros. Records was treating him probably isn’t too happy with his ex-label’s latest move.

On July 31, the Warner Catalog Group will dip its paws back into the artist’s sonic real estate by releasing The Very Best of Prince via Rhino Records.

When asked for comment on the release, Prince’s publicist said the purple one was unavailable.

The 17-track disc compiles songs from the 1993 discs The Hits 1 and 2, which consisted of material Prince released between 1978 and 1993 on Warner Bros., whom he accused of unfair business practices. The record also features “Money Don’t Matter 2 Night,” which was on 1991’s Diamonds and Pearls but not on the greatest-hits albums.

The Very Best of Prince includes the #1 hits “When Doves Cry,” “Let’s Go Crazy” and “Kiss” in addition to Prince’s first #1 R&B single, “I Wanna Be Your Lover.” The album also features the radio staples “1999,” “Little Red Corvette” and “Cream.”

The Very Best Of Prince’s Track Listing, According To The Project’s Publicist:

  • “I Wanna Be Your Lover”
  • “1999”
  • “Little Red Corvette”
  • “When Doves Cry”
  • “Let’s Go Crazy”
  • “Purple Rain”
  • “I Would Die 4 U”
  • “Raspberry Beret”
  • “Kiss”
  • “Sign ‘O’ the Times”
  • “U Got the Look”
  • “Alphabet St.”
  • “Thieves in the Temple”
  • “Gett Off”
  • “Cream”
  • “Diamonds and Pearls”
  • “Money Don’t Matter 2 Night”
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more