metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Treble Charger, Our Lady Top Canadian Music Awards

Canadian rock bands Treble Charger and Our Lady Peace were the big winners on Sunday as the MuchMusic Awards, Canada’s music video awards, were handed out in Toronto.

Homegrown sensation Avril Lavigne picked up the trophy for best international video by a Canadian for her single, “Sk8er Boi,” and country star Shania Twain, who was raised in Timmins, Ontario, picked up the MuchMoreMusic Award for her “Up!” video.

But both Canuck divas were overshadowed by two dual-winning rock bands: Treble Charger grabbed two awards – best rock video and best director – for the single “Hundred Million,” and Our Lady Peace grabbed the best video and best cinematography trophies for one of their singles, “Innocent.”

Other award winners included Sean Paul, who earned the best international media for an artist for “Gimme The Light,” and rock band the White Stripes, who marched off with the best international video for a group for “Seven Nation Army.”

The 2003 MuchMusic Video Awards aired live across Canada on TV stations belonging to the Toronto-based Chum group.

Following is a complete list of winners:

Best International Video – Artist

Sean Paul – Gimme The Light (VP/Virgin)

People’s Choice: Favourite International Group

Good Charlotte – The Anthem (Epic/Sony)

People’s Choice: Favourite Canadian Group

Simple Plan – I’d Do Anything (Lava/Warner)

People’s Choice: Favourite International Artist

Eminem – Lose Yourself (Shady/Universal)

People’s Choice: Favourite Canadian Artist

Avril Lavigne – Sk8er Boi (Arista/BMG)

Best Video

Our Lady Peace – Innocent (Columbia/Sony)

Best International Video – Group

The White Stripes – Seven Nation Army (V2/BMG)

MuchVIBE Best Rap Video

Swollen Members f. Nelly Furtado – Breath (Battle Axe)

MuchLOUD Best Rock Video

Treble Charger – Hundred Million (ViK./BMG)

Best Pop Video

Shawn Desman – Get Ready (Uomo/ViK.)

Best International Video By A Canadian

Avril Lavigne – Sk8er Boi (Arista/BMG)

Best Cinematography

Our Lady Peace – Innocent (Columbia/Sony)

Best VideoFACT

Sam Roberts – Brother Down (Maplemusic/Universal)

Best Director

Treble Charger – Hundred Million (ViK./BMG)

Best Post-Production

Danko Jones – Lovercall (Universal)

Best Independent Video

Not By Choice – Now That You Are Leaving (Linus/Warner)

MuchMoreMusic Award

Shania Twain – Up! (Mercury/Universal)

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more