metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Spider-Man (Music From and Inspired By) Features New Singles From Sum 41 and Nickelback

Columbia/Roadrunner/Island Def Jam/Sony Music Soundtrax will release “Spider-Man (Music From and Inspired By)” on Tuesday, April 30. “Spider-Man,” the live action motion picture released by Columbia Pictures in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of the classic graphic character’s Marvel Comics debut, will be in theaters nationwide on Friday, May 3.

“Spider-Man (Music From and Inspired By)” is a collection of music written and performed by a generation of musicians influenced by the power and mystery of the Spider-Man character, his conflicts and his adventures. The album’s lead singles and videos are “What We’re All About (The Original Version)” from Sum 41 featuring a guitar solo from Slayer’s Kerry King; and “Hero,” a new track from Nickelback vocalist/guitarist Chad Kroeger featuring Josey Scott (the vocalist from Saliva), written for the film by Kroeger.

The album showcases new music from Alien Ant Farm, Slipknot’s Corey Taylor, Pete Yorn, Black Lab, Bleu, and Greenwheel as well as Tom Morello’s rock remix of Macy Gray’s “My Nutmeg Phantasy.” Other featured artists include The Hives, Default, The Strokes, Jerry Cantrell, Theory Of A Dead Man, Injected, and composer Danny Elfman. The record opens with the original “Theme From Spider Man” and closes with a new interpretation of the theme by Aerosmith.

When fans place the CD into a computer CD-ROM drive and log onto the Spider-Man website (http://www.columbiarecords.com/spider-man), the “Spider-Man (Music From and Inspired By)” CD will allow them to unlock and view streaming versions of music videos for Sum 41’s “What We’re All About (The Original Version)” and “Hero” by Chad Kroeger featuring Josey Scott as well as behind-the-scenes footage from “Hero,” the making of the Sum 41 clip, and exclusive footage from the shoots. The initial pressing of “Spider-Man (Music From and Inspired By)” will be available with a limited edition 3-D collector’s card.

One of the biggest event films of the year, “Spider-Man” is the story of student Peter Parker, played by Tobey Maguire (“The Ice Storm,” “Pleasantville,” “Wonder Boys”), who becomes a reluctant superhero after being bitten by a genetically-altered spider. Directed by Sam Raimi (“Darkman,” “A Simple Plan,” the “Evil Dead” trilogy), “Spider-Man” also stars Willem DaFoeas Spider-Man’s arch-nemesis the Green Goblin; Kirsten Dunst as Peter Parker’s girl-next-door; James Franco as Parker’s best friend; veteran British actress Rosemary Harris as Parker’s Aunt May; J.K. Simmons as Jonah Jamison, Peter’s boss at the Daily Bugle; and Cliff Robertson as Peter’s Uncle Ben, who entrusts Spider-Man with the wisdom: “With great power comes great responsibility.”

Spider-Man (Music From And Inspired By) Track Listing:

  • 1. “Theme From Spider Man”
  • 2. “Hero” – Chad Kroeger featuring Josey Scott
  • 3. “What We’re All About – The Original Version” – Sum 41
  • 4. “Learn To Crawl” – Black Lab
  • 5. “Somebody Else” – Bleu
  • 6. “Bug Bytes” – Alien Ant Farm”
  • 7. “Blind” – Default
  • 8. “Bother” – Corey Taylor
  • 9. “Shelter” – Greenwheel
  • 10. “When It Started” – The Strokes
  • 11. “Hate To Say I Told You So” – The Hives
  • 12. “Invisible Man” – Theory Of A Dead Man
  • 13. “Undercover” – Pete Yorn
  • 14. “My Nutmeg Phantasy” – Morello Mix – Macy Gray
  • 15. “I-IV-V” – Injected
  • 16. “She Was My Girl” – Jerry Cantrell
  • 17. “Main Titles” – Danny Elfman
  • 18. “Farewell” – Danny Elfman
  • 19. “Theme From Spider Man” – Aerosmith
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more