metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


No Doubt's ROCK STEADY Now Slated for December 11 Release

The members of No Doubt are pleased to announce that fans will have one less week to wait for the arrival of the band’s new Interscope Records album, ROCK STEADY.

The collection, which was recorded throughout 2001 with a variety of producers at a number of international locations, is now scheduled to arrive in record stores on December 11, 2001, seven days earlier than first planned. The release date has been pushed up in response to the overwhelming response that’s greeted No Doubt’s new single and video, “Hey Baby,” including an impressive 130 first-week adds on Top-40 stations.

The pride of Orange County, California, No Doubt (Gwen Stefani, Tom Dumont, Tony Kanal, Adrian Young) have recently been on tour in the US with labelmates U2, which has given the band the opportunity to perform music from Rock Steady live for the first time, including “Hey Baby” and “Hella Good.” Tony Kanal says of the shows: “It’s been a great chance to try out some of our new songs. The U2 crowds have been really great to us every night.”

No Doubt will be the musical guest on Saturday Night Live on December 15. As well, No Doubt will be performing at the My VH1 Music Awards in Los Angeles on December 2 and at the Billboard Music Awards in Las Vegas on December 4. The eye-catching video for “Hey Baby,” which was directed by Dave Meyers, is now in heavy rotation on MTV.

The new album is named for one of the last songs to be included. Says Gwen Stefani, “Rock Steady is where we are as a band right now. Stay the course, keep focused. Like the song says, ‘A real love survives, a rock steady vibe.’ It could just as well be describing No Doubt, our band, after all these years.”

The producers who contributed to ROCK STEADY comprise a staggering and eclectic list of studio masters including funk legend Prince, acclaimed producer/remixer Nellee Hooper (U2, Bjork), ambient pioneer and omnipresent dance remixer William Orbit (Madonna, Blur), former Cars frontman Ric Ocasek (Weezer, Guided By Voices), reggae’s drum and bass duo Sly & Robbie and dancehall-reggae’s dominant production team Steely & Clevie (Shabba Ranks, Maxi Priest).

ROCK STEADY was recorded in Los Angeles, Jamaica, and London and runs the musical gamut, incorporating dancehall-reggae, classic new wave, and R&B with the band’s signature, high-energy sound. It’s No Doubt’s fifth album, following their 1992 eponymous debut; the self-released THE BEACON STREET COLLECTION (1995); their multi-platinum breakthrough TRAGIC KINGDOM (also 1995) and RETURN OF SATURN (2000).

The Final Track Listing Is As Follows:

  • Rock Steady – Intro
  • Hella Good
  • Hey Baby
  • Making Out
  • Underneath It All
  • Detective
  • Don’t Let Me Down
  • Start the Fire
  • Running
  • In My Head
  • Platinum Blonde Life
  • Waiting Room
  • Rock Steady
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more