metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Mick Jagger To Release Lenny Kravitz Collaboration As Single

God gave Mick Jagger everything, and in return, the Rolling Stones singer is giving a song with that title to radio and video outlets.

“God Gave Me Everything,” co-written and produced by Jagger and Lenny Kravitz, is the first single from Jagger’s Goddess in the Doorway, which has been pushed back two weeks to November 20, Virgin Records announced on Thursday (October 18).

“You’re talking about a guy who wrote some of the best songs ever in the world, and whose music helped define an era,” Kravitz, who worked with Jagger in Miami, said on Thursday. “He’s royalty… And he’s really great to work with. And we pushed each other a little bit. It was good. It was a good energy.”

The single is scheduled to be released to radio on October 23, but Virgin has already released it online, at liquid.com, in time to be eligible for consideration at next year’s Grammy Awards, according to a spokesperson for the digital download company Liquid Audio (a spokesperson for the Recording Academy did not return calls to confirm). Kravitz’s song “Dig In” was released online at the same time. Each can be downloaded for $3.49.

Jagger is filming a video for “God Gave Me Everything” with director Mark Romanek (Madonna, Michael Jackson). Details about the clip were not available.

Jagger’s 12-track Goddess in the Doorway, his fourth solo album and first since 1993’s Wandering Spirit, also features appearances by Bono, Wyclef Jean, Matchbox Twenty’s Rob Thomas, the Who’s Pete Townshend and Aerosmith’s Joe Perry.

“These are all very personal songs kept true to my original vision,” Jagger said in a statement. “Sometimes these things take on a life of their own, which can be great too, but this is an intimate collection of songs that I could sing to you across the kitchen table.”

Goddess In The Doorway Track List, According To Virgin:

  • “Visions of Paradise”
  • “Joy”
  • “Dancing in the Starlight”
  • “God Gave Me Everything”
  • “Hideaway”
  • “Don’t Call Me Up”
  • “Goddess in the Doorway”
  • “Lucky Day”
  • “Everybody Getting High”
  • “Gun”
  • “Too Far Gone”
  • “Brand New Set of Rules”
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more