metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Master P Explains Why The Time Was Right To Switch To Universal

Hip-hop mogul Master P will release Gameface, the first album under his new No Limit Records distribution agreement with Universal Records, on December 18. The set features guest appearances by Weebie, Silkk The Shocker, C-Murder, and Lil’ Romeo.

Recently LAUNCH spoke with Master P who explained why the time was right to switch distributors. “I filled my obligation up. I made sure I didn’t owe them nothing,” he said. “I made sure we were straight on the end with whatever they owe me, and it was like a great business relationship. They couldn’t believe it but it was nothing negative. When I looked at the future for No Limit, I said, man Universal only been in business for five years, they’ve been setting a lot of standards, as far as marketing and promotion. I figure if I can find a company that really got a real big chain behind them, then I can really just get in on the creative side, and bring a lot of new talent through.”

The track listing for Gameface includes: “Take It Outside,” “Ghetto Ballin,” “Ooohhhwee,” “Real Love,” “We Want Dough,” “The Block,” “A Woman,” “Back On Top,” “The Farm,” “What I’m Bout,” “Whoadie Gone,” “Party At,” “I Don’t,” “Who’s Your Daddy,” “Rock It,” and “Lose It and Get It.”

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more