metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Jack Osbourne's Favorite Metallists Meshuggah Prepare For Nothing

Swedish experimental extreme metal band Meshuggah have been praised by the mainstream music press and metal mags alike, and have cultivated a loyal underground following since their first LP, Contradictions Collapse, was released in 1991. But even the largest crowds at a European metal festival pale in comparison to the millions that heard Meshuggah on “The Osbournes” when Jack, in an effort to piss off the family’s obnoxious neighbors, blasted “Future Breed Machine” from the band’s 1995 album, Destroy, Erase, Improve.

The young metal powerbroker also recruited the band to play the second stage of this year’s Ozzfest, and the group will ride the momentum by releasing its fourth full-length album, Nothing, on August 6, halfway through the tour. Meshuggah’s first disc of new material since 1998’s Chaosphere, Nothing is being produced by the band at Dug-Out Studios in Uppsala, Sweden, and at their home studio in Stockholm.

Meshuggah’s past releases have combined light-speed math-metal tempos, frantic, acrobatic rhythms, unerring precision and roaring vocals with conceptual themes.

Track List For Nothing, In No Particular Order, According To Nuclear Blast Records:

  • “Perpetual Black Second”
  • “Straws Pulled at Random”
  • “Rational Gaze”
  • “Stengah”
  • “Closed Eye Visuals”
  • “Spasm”
  • “Assembly”
  • “Path of the Frightened”
  • “Scorned Shadows”
  • “Glints Collide”
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more