Horror Rock Fills 'Freddy Vs. Jason' Soundtrack

By | July 3, 2003 at 12:00 AM

Two of the biggest slasher-film icons of the ’80s are finally set to meet, as the nightmare pairing of “Freddy Vs. Jason” hits U.S. theaters Aug. 15.

Destiny’s Child’s Kelly Rowland will star in the film, but the soundtrack to the flick, due Aug. 5 via Roadrunner, will be chock full of hard-edged rock. The disc is highlighted by an unreleased track from Slipknot and contributions from Sepultura, Chimaira, Stone Sour and Type O Negative.

Slipknot is contributing the previously unreleased track “Snap” to “Freddy Vs. Jason.” Other previously unheard cuts will include Killswitch Engage’s “When Darkness Falls” featuring Howard Jones and Ill Nino’s “How Can I Live,” which will appear on the group’s forthcoming sophomore Roadrunner set, “Confession.” The latter will also be the first single from the soundtrack.

Former Faith No More vocalist and current Tomahawk principal Mike Patton collaborated with Sepultura on its new track, “The Waste.” Other featured cuts on the soundtrack are Spineshank’s “The Beginning of the End,” Chimaira’s “Army of Me,” Devildriver’s new “Swinging the Dead,” and the Stone Sour rarity “Inside the Cynic.” Type O Negative’s “(We Were) Electrocute” rounds out the list of confirmed tracks to date.