*now playing*


Finger Eleven And Evanescence Channel Elektra's Angst

With the recent trend of films based upon successful Marvel comics, the use of today’s most popular modern rock acts for the comic-flick soundtrack has become almost cliche. The use of catchy yet mildly dramatic rock hits to accompany the depressing emotions often felt by the superheroes has already been played out with both Spiderman soundtracks as well as in movies like The Punisher and Daredevil. As Jennifer Garner returns to the big screen as the heroic Elektra, director Rob Bowman (Reign Of Fire and The X-Files) opted to stick to the original template.

Elektra The Album, which is set for release tomorrow (January 11), features unreleased tracks from Finger Eleven, Evanescence, Jet, Alter Bridge, Taking Back Sunday, Switchfoot and The Donnas. Along with the aforementioned The Punisher and Daredevil, this new compilation of modern rock is the third soundtrack installment of its kind from the New York-based Wind-up Records. The album also introduces the new sounds of Strata, a Wind-up rock group who contributed their new single “Never There (She Stabs).”

Elektra, a film from Marvel, Twentieth Century Fox and Regency Enterprises features Jennifer Garner in her second stint as the sexy, sai-wielding Elektra, who first emerged on the big screen with Ben Affleck in Daredevil. In this latest chapter of the Elektra saga, the super hero lives only for her assignments and has lost all ties with the world. Equipped with mysterious power known as kimagure; a faint ability to peek into the future, Elektra is forced to make difficult decisions that could cost her her life. The film is set to be released in theatres on January 14, 2005.

Here’s a tracklisting for the Elektra soundtrack:

  • Strata – Never There – She Stabs
  • Jet – Hey Kids
  • The Donnas – Everyone Is Wrong
  • Switchfoot – Sooner Or Later
  • Finger Eleven – Thousand Mile Wish – Elektra Mix
  • Megan McCauley – Wonder
  • Taking Back Sunday – Your Won Disaster
  • Evanescence – Breathe No More
  • 12 Stones – Photograph
  • Alter Bridge – Save Me
  • The Dreaming – Beautiful
  • Submersed – Hollow
  • Hawthorne Heights – Angels With Even Filthier Souls
  • The Twenty Twos – 5 Years
  • Full Blown Rose – In The Light
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more