metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Dave Matthews Band, Counting Crows Tracks Spice Up "Deeds"

New music from the Dave Matthews Band and Counting Crows plus a bizarre collaboration between David Bowie and Adam Sandler highlight the RCA soundtrack to Sandler’s forthcoming film, “Mr. Deeds,” due June 11. As reported today, the first single will be Dave Matthews Band’s “Where Are You Going,” which will also appear on the group’s forthcoming RCA set “Busted Stuff.”

Counting Crows’ “Go to Town” is a new song not slated to appear on the group’s forthcoming Geffen release “Hard Candy.” The set also sports a rerecording of David Bowie’s 1969 gem “Space Oddity” featuring a vocal introduction by Sandler. Previously released music by the likes of Trik Turner, Weezer, Natalie Imbruglia, Travis, Pete Townshend, Yes, and U2 are also included.

The movie, which opens June 28 in U.S. theaters, stars Sandler as Longfellow Deeds, a charming pizzeria worker from New Hampshire who suddenly receives a $40 billion inheritance and ownership of the world’s largest media company. John Turturro and Winona Ryder also star.

Here Is The Full Track Listing:

  • “Where Are You Going,” Dave Matthews Band
  • “Sing,” Travis
  • “Let My Love Open the Door,” Pete Townshend
  • “Sweetest Thing,” U2
  • “Wrong Impression,” Natalie Imbruglia
  • “Happy in the Meantime,” Lit
  • “Island in the Sun,” Weezer
  • “Friends & Family,” Trik Turner
  • “Space Oddity,” David Bowie – vocal introduction by Adam Sandler
  • “Falling,” Ben Kweller
  • “Go to Town,” Counting Crows
  • “I’ve Seen All Good People,” Yes
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more