metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Twenty One Pilots Announce Vinyl Release Of MTV Unplugged Session

Photo via Press

Last year Twenty One Pilots joined the very exclusive club of bands that have performed as part of MTV’s iconic Unplugged sessions. Taking some of their classic tracks and turning on their heads in an intimate setting, it was yet another example of the breadth of the band’s talents as well as their ability to create special live moments.

And now they are going to be pressing the session onto vinyl, so you can listen to it whenever you like. It will be released on April 21st.

The artwork looks like this:

And the tracklisting like this:

01. “Intro”
02. “Stressed Out”
03. “Tear in My Heart”
04. “House Of Gold / Lane Boy”
05. “Shy Away”
06. “Ride / Nico And The Niners”
07. “Car Radio / Heathens”

It can be pre-ordered and pre-saved right here, alongside a special merch capsule.

You can also check out the full performance, which premiered last June on MTV, below:

Twenty One Pilots revealed last year that their Scaled & Icy era had come to an end, meaning that something new is in the works.

Tyler Joseph had this to say in a statement, summing up everything that the cycle had given them:

“scaled and icy was created and born in a time of uncertainty. live shows were always an important part of our dna as a band. we probably wouldn’t even exist with out them. we always wrote songs for the show, never the other way around. but i always wondered what it would be like to write a record that never existed in a concert setting. then we had no choice but to write that kind of record. so that’s what we tried. as the songs took shape, and we released them, and sat at home, we felt proud. proud of our fans, mostly. it felt good to release music. but something was off. i wondered, what would happen to these songs if we let them echo through a venue? and then, slowly, live music began to dust itself off.

“71 shows and 14 countries later, scaled and icy became something different. the lyrics meant something different, something more, the colors found their purpose, the chords rubbed together differently. the record came to life. it was confirmed: this band and these specific songs needed live music.

“i want to thank our crew, who took us around the world during one of the toughest eras of touring ever. this past album cycle has meant so much to me. and you, you resilient bunch of my favorite people, you brought this to life and continue to support it. you have given me purpose, humility, and pride. you guys have given me so much. thank you.

“and that concludes ψ”

For now, here’s how their final show of 2022 in Brazil looked:

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more