metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Northlane Drops New Single “Miasma” And Announce Upcoming EP

Northlane 2024
[Photo by: Kane Hibberd]

Northlane is back with their single “Miasma,” featuring Parkway Drive’s Winston McCall. The act also announced their upcoming EP, Mirror’s Edge, due on April 12. Across the track, they stick to their metal origins even with a new era ushering in.

This new release includes their devious angelic melodies slipped between McCall’s fierce screams to create a curious anomaly. Much darker sonically compared to “Dante,” the first taste fans got from the forthcoming release, it’s a testament to the inspiration they have for certain performers in the scene, “Parkway Drive were always our number one inspiration as a band,” guitarist Josh Smith says. “At a time where every band was ripping their sound off, we chose to take our own path but instead emulate their work ethic, and for us, it paid dividends.” 

Their diligence as a band helped in forming the creation of Mirror’s Edge. The Australian group encountered tension during the production of the EP, but ultimately, it helped in creating music that triggered a message of introspection. Frontman Marcus Bridge explains that he took parts of his own life and injected it into their music. “It’s like looking at your reflection, looking at the past and everything I’ve been thinking about, or caught up within the last little while.”

Read more: Youth Fountain Announces Together In North America Headline Tour

Bridge includes that while most of these songs aren’t positive, it’s personally helpful to move onwards to the next phase in life. Compared to their last release from 2022, Obsidian, it’s safe to say that they’re embarking on a darker journey that’ll split any crowd down the middle for the most intense wall of death. Needless to say, dedicated listeners will continue to enjoy the aggression behind the release and be stoked that Northlane never ended but came back stronger than ever.

Fans can pre-order Mirror’s Edge on their site. Check out the tracklisting for the album below:

Mirror’s Edge Tracklist:

  1. “Mirror’s Edge”
  2. “Afterimage” (Ft. Ian Kenny)
  3. Miasma” (Ft. Winston McCall)
  4. “Let Me Disappear”
  5. “Kraft” (Ft. Brendon Padjasek)
  6. Dante
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more