metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Fresh Pressed [new music friday] – 273

What better way to kick off a weekend than with new music? Fridays are always chock full of the latest songs and albums ready to be the soundtrack to everyone’s antics, and here you’ll find some of the week’s standout releases. Whether you’re ready to spin an anticipated song from a favorite artist or just take a look at what’s out there, there are a whole lot of tunes to dive right into. Who knows—maybe you’ll find your next obsession.

This Is Why

This is Why is why Paramore is simply undefeated. Their sixth full-length album—and first in six years—is unequivocally Paramore while being able to sound in a way they never have before. Raw lyricism that delves into anxiety and uncertainty, coupled with furious indie-rock toe-tappers, make this the premiere Paramore experience. It was worth the wait.

Pierce the Veil
The Jaws of Life

Pierce the Veil is back in a big way with The Jaws of Life. Originally making an impact with a tenacious post-hardcore edge, their return finds them experimenting in a number of styles that ultimately suit them better than their previous sound ever did. Between the mid-tempo title track and the Top 40-potential closer, this is without a doubt a new look PTV.

Linkin Park

It’s hard to believe that it’s been 20 years since Linkin Park’s Meteora—a record that feels like it’s just always kind of existed. Off the upcoming anniversary edition of the LP—which, by the way, includes two live sets, live rarities, and over 30 demos—is “Lost”, a previously-unreleased track which sounds like it could have slotted anywhere into the track listing.

Magnolia Park
“Do or Die”

Is that you, Magnolia Park? The pop-punk band, who just released their excellent debut LP a few months ago, have a new song that’s very not pop-punk. “Do or Die” is basically hip-hop-infused metalcore, showcasing the band in a different, and exciting, light.

Attack Attack!
“Dark Waves”

Attack Attack! will never die. Since their comeback three years ago, each new song has gotten progressively better than the last—“Dark Waves” is probably the best they’ve ever sounded. It’s a tried-and-true metal performance, but their new vocalist pulls it off better than most. Put that together with an outrageous hook and it’s a winning combination.

The Plot in You
“Left Behind”

Inspired by the bands that The Plot in You grew up listening to, “Left Behind” would make those acts proud. Taking a softer approach from their harder tendencies—and a low-key poppier approach at that—the new single absolutely rips with an anthemic chorus and upbeat nature.

Sam Hunt

Sam Hunt doesn’t release music very often but when he does, it’s always something solid. On “Walmart”, Hunt dishes out a mid-tempo country ballad that he’s all too good at crafting, heading back to his roots and a time before he became the star he is today.

Other new releases:
Lizzo – “Special (feat. SZA)”
The Kid Laroi – “Kids Are Growing Up (Part 1)”
Logic – “Paradise III (feat. Norah Jones)”
Marshmello – “Eternal”
Flume – Things Don’t Always Go the Way You Plan
Tove Lo – “Borderline”
You Me at Six – Truth Decay
Rebecca Black – Let Her Burn
Ashnikko – “You Make Me Sick!”
Tennis – Pollen
CXLOE – “Cheating on Myself”
Zolita – Falling In/Falling Out
Dove Cameron & Khalid – “We Go Down Together”
Skylar Grey – “Love the Way You Lie Part III”


Related Content

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more