metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Free Throw Announce New Album “Lessons That We Swear The Keep”

[Photo Via Big Picture Media]

Nashville emo-punk band, Free Throw has announced the release of their fifth full-length album Lessons That We Swear To Keep out October 13th via Wax Bodega. To celebrate this awesome news, the group has shared a brand new single “Spacer’s Choice” today! The song kicks off with non lexical gang vocals, or some “oooos” to say it simply. Everyone loves a good sing-along right out of the gate. The track then transports us quickly into the gritty, aggressive vocals we have all come to know and love from Free Throw. For a first taster of the upcoming record, this song is extremely promising for what is to come.

“‘Spacer’s Choice’ is one of those songs that seems really fun melodically with a really dark meaning…” explains vocalist Cory Castro on the new single out today. “The song is about how the issues I’ve touched on over the years aren’t just “ solvable ” problems. They tend to persist and rear their ugly head all of the time. Being in a band that has lasted over a decade and that has developed a pretty large catalog of music however I find myself writing about the same things a lot because they are my real issues.

“This has led to criticism in the past, which is fine, besides it doesn’t bother me. This song is kind of my response to that and served as a fun and “ meta ” scenario to express that feeling. I know I write about a lot of the same issues, but hey, those problems don’t just go away. Lyrics and music are my outlet.”

Read More: Cherie Amour Reminisces On Dance-Worthy New Track “702”

Speaking on the new album as a whole, the band shares, “This album reflects someone in the growing stages of adulthood and coming to terms with the experience of life. While I understand that sounds vague and generic, it’s the only way to describe these songs. It’s a diary of my experiences over the past few years. I tried my best to take my own situations and make them as “ self-insertable ” as I could, but this record is outright a very personal one. For the past eight years, we’d always had a label to answer to. We were free to do whatever we wanted. Usually when it comes to writing and recording, there’s always this stress around it where you want it to be as good as possible but you’re trying to meet deadlines. This time that just wasn’t there.”

The album art is totally SICK. It is surreal, unique, and also something we haven’t really seen before. Honestly, a good album art is a game changer. Remember shopping the CD isle at Best Buy and picking up an album just because the front looked cool? This one would totally be something you’d pick up. As far as the track list, we are getting a total of eleven new songs, including a track features Tades Sanville of Hot Mulligan. Check out all of the details below!

Read More: Magnolia Park Release Dynamic Double EPs “MoonEater” And “SoulEater”

Lessons That We Swear to Keep Track listing

  1. A Part is Better Than Zero (featuring Tades Sanville of Hot Mulligan)
  2. Spacer’s Choice
  3. Replacing Leene’s Bell
  4. The Museum of Orphaned Concepts
  5. So Yeah, So
  6. Thanks For Asking
  7. Into the Wind Stream
  8. Joy Ephemeral
  9. Cinnabar Island
  10. Tips For Safe Travels
  11. What Comes Around Is All Around

Free Throw Tour Dates:

  • Sept. 17 – Chicago, IL @ Riot Fest
  • Sept. 19 – Cincinnati, Oh @ Legends Bar & Venue
  • Sept. 20 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall
  • Sept. 21 – Birmingham, AL @ Furnace Fest Pre-Party

w/ Prince Daddy & The Hyena, Charmer, saturdays at your place / Blvck Hippie

  • Oct. 27 – Charleston, SC @ Music Farm
  • Oct .28 – Orlando, FL @ Level 13 Event Center
  • Oct. 29 – Gainesville, FL @ THE FEST
  • Oct. 30 – Charlotte, NC @ The Underground
  • Nov. 1 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
  • Nov. 2 – Philadelphia, PA @ Brooklyn Bowl
  • Nov. 3 – New Haven, CT @ Toad’s Place
  • Nov. 4 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge
  • Nov. 5 – Boston, MA @ Royale
  • Nov. 7 – Rochester, NY @ Montage Music Hall
  • Nov. 9 – Lansing, MI @ Grewal Hall at 224
  • Nov. 10 – Columbus, OH @ Skully’s Music Diner
  • Nov. 11 – Bloomington, IL @ The Castle Theatre
  • Nov. 12 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre
  • Nov. 14 – Denver, CO @ The Oriental Theater
  • Nov. 15 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Soundwell
  • Nov. 17 – Portland, OR @ Bossanova Ballroom
  • Nov. 18 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre
  • Nov. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ August Hall
  • Nov. 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent Theater
  • Nov. 22 – Mesa, AZ @ The Nile Theater
  • Nov. 24 – Austin, TX @ Come and Take It Live
  • Nov. 25 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
  • Nov. 26 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Beer City Music Hall
  • Nov. 28 – Kansas City, MO @ Recordbar
  • Nov. 29 – Springfield, MO @ The Riff
  • Nov. 30 – Memphis, TN @ Black Lodge
  • Dec. 1 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
  • Dec. 2 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more