*now playing*

Book Reviews

Directed by
Released: ..
Review by | November 12, 2015 at 7:00 PM

“You’re looking for a god. Didn’t you suspect that there was also a devil?”

Basically: Blue Sargent has known for a long time, due to growing up with psychics, that she would kill the boy she fell in love with by kissing him. After seeing who that boy would be, she suddenly finds herself on a mystical quest with him and his friends from Aglionby Academy.

In Maggie Stiefvater’s first book of the Raven Cycle series, she take us on a journey of magic, death, and heartbreak. From the beginning of her enthralling narrative, she makes you absolutely fall in love with her characters. Once I started, there was no way I wanted to stop learning more about the characters. There’s Blue, the quirky daughter of the town psychic, Gansey, the strange rich boy on a quest, or any of the rest of the characters that Blue comes to affectionately call “her raven boys.” Stiefvater mixes the perfect balance of the character detail that you crave and riveting plot points that keep you spellbound to create a story will have you staying up until ridiculous hours of the morning to finish. You will go on adventures through time bending forests and discover that even the people in front of you can disappear in a second if you aren’t careful. On top of all this, Stiefvater compiled a killer playlist that helps you really feel the chill of the quest you are about to embark on with Blue and her Raven Boys. There’s no way you can go wrong with a great plot, good music, and characters that will have you hooked from the start. It’s impossible to finish this book and not want more of this mysterious and odd little gang. Luckily there are three more books where that came from, the last of which to be released in February. Join the journey before then.

Read It, Get The Cliffnotes, Wait For The Movie: Read it! The combination of eloquent narrative, nice cars, and an overall spooky tone that is perfect for this time of year will have you immediately seeking the next book in the series, The Dream Thieves.

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more