metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Rock Photog Taps Subjects For Album Help

Sheryl Crow, Lenny Kravitz, Jakob Dylan, Willie Nelson and T-Bone Burnett have leant a hand to the debut album from Rusty Truck, the brainchild of former Rolling Stone photographer Mark Seliger. Coda Terra Entertainment will release the 12-song effort on Sept. 24.

Seliger met the artists while working for Rolling Stone, but Rusty Truck only began to take shape when a pair of Wallflowers encouraged Seliger’s musical endeavors. Band leader Dylan invited Seliger into the studio to cut a demo. Later, keyboardist Rami Jaffee asked Seliger to play a show with him in Los Angeles.

Seliger agreed and later relocated to the West Coast. He formed Rusty Truck with drummer Joey Peters (Grant Lee Buffalo), guitarist Michael Duff (Chalk Farm), multi-instrumentalists Andy Gibson (Hank Williams III) and Ben Peeler, bassist Sheldon Gomberg (Ryan Adams) and background vocalist Kristin Mooney.

Rusty Truck’s L.A. performances were caught by a number of Seliger’s pals. Kravitz, for one, agreed to write and record three songs with Seliger, which inspired the latter to contact a number of artists he had worked with over the years, including Nelson, Crow, Burnett, Gillian Welch, M’Shell N’Degeocello and Afro-Cuban musician Andres Levin.

Here Is The Track List For “Broken Promises”:

  • “Everytime,” featuring vocals and production by Jakob Dylan
  • “Cold Ground,” produced by T-Bone Burnett and Sheryl Crow, with according work by Crow
  • “Civil Wars / Lucks Changing Lanes,” produced by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, with backing vocals by Welch
  • “Broken Promises,” produced by Lenny Kravitz
  • “A Thousand Kisses,” produced by Willie Nelson and Mickey Raphael, with vocals by Nelson
  • “Candy,” produced by Andres Levin
  • “Fool,” produced by Lenny Kravitz
  • “Malibu Canyon,” featuring vocals and production by Jakob Dylan
  • “Tangled in the Fence,” produced by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, with backing vocals by Welch
  • “Never Going Back,” featuring vocals and production by Jakob Dylan
  • “TKO,” produced by Meshell N’degeocello, with guitar work by Kenny Wayne Shepherd
  • “Prey,” produced by Lenny Kravitz
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more