*now playing*


MTV And Maverick Recording Company Release 15 Modern Pop Classics On 'MTV: 20 Years Of Pop Music' CD

MTV: Music Television and Maverick Recording Co. have announced a July 3rd release date for “MTV: 20 Years of Pop Music,” a 15-track collection featuring the greatest pop hits of the past two decades.

This star-studded album of blockbuster singles accompanies the upcoming MTV special titled, “MTV20: Everybody Talk About… Pop Music!,” a one-hour event premiering July 14th at 12 noon ET/PT, celebrating seminal pop moments that occurred over the course of the network’s 20-years.

This extraordinary and diverse compilation, features songs pulled from the last 20 years of MTV, from Madonna (“Borderline”) to Christina Aguilera (“Genie In A Bottle”); and Janet Jackson (“That’s The Way Love Goes”) to Backstreet Boys (“I Want It That Way”). This exclusive CD also contains songs from TLC (“Waterfalls”), R.E.M. (“Losing My Religion”), Alanis Morissette (“You Oughtta Know”), No Doubt (“Don’t Speak”), Matchbox Twenty (“3 am”), and Goo Goo Dolls (“Slide”).

“MTV20: Everybody Talk About… Pop Music!” will tell the story of Pop Music on MTV through interviews with the artists who created it, grew up with it, and are now making it themselves. This hour long special will give viewers an inside view of some of the greatest Pop moments from the last 20 years, including Pop video classics, MTV Video Music Awards performances, and exclusive interviews from the MTV vaults. The special will look at some of the key moments from MTV’s Pop music history including the launch of TRL in Times Square, the influence of Hip-Hop and R&B, and the recent success of boy bands and girl groups.

“MTV: 20 Years of Pop Music” brings to life a remarkable period in music history, a 20-year span that helped define pop culture. Many of the songs showcased on this disc are career-making hits by cultural icons whose work will continue to influence artists for generations to come.

Here’s The Full Track Listing For “MTV: 20 Years Of Pop Music”:

  • Madonna – “Borderline” – 1983
  • Beastie Boys – “No Sleep Till Brooklyn” – 1986
  • Whitney Houston – “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” – 1987
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Higher Ground” – 1989
  • R.E.M. – “Losing My Religion” – 1991
  • En Vogue – “Free Your Mind” – 1992
  • Janet Jackson – “That’s The Way Love Goes” – 1993
  • TLC – “Waterfalls” – 1994
  • Weezer – “Buddy Holly” – 1994
  • No Doubt – “Don’t Speak” – 1995
  • Alanis Morissette – “You Oughtta Know” – 1995
  • Matchbox 20 – “3am” – 1996
  • Goo Goo Dolls – “Slide” – 1998
  • Backstreet Boys – “I Want It That Way” – 1999
  • Christina Aguilera – “Genie In A Bottle”
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more