metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Early Recordings By Backstreeter Carter Due

Hip-O Records will on March 26 release “Nick Carter: Before The ‘Boys’ 1989-1993,” a collection of recordings made by the Backstreet Boys member before the boy band launched him to international fame. The 14-track set consists of recordings Carter made with his vocal teacher Mark Dye between the ages of 9 and 13.

Among the selections are two tracks written by Dye, “Summer!” and “Hard to Get,” as well as Carter singing the National Anthem, “Love Is A Wonderful Thing,” “Runaround Sue,” “Breaking up is Hard To Do,” “Jailhouse Rock,” “Uptown Girl,” “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree,” and a medley of “Just a Gigolo”/”I Ain’t Got Nobody.”

In other news, Carter is the proud owner of a new 43-foot offshore racing boat with two 750-horsepower engines. He plans to run the 130 mph-watercraft in the American Power Boat Association’s 2002 circuit in the U.S. and Canada. Fans needn’t worry about his safety though, as the performer will not be in the boat during races. His father, Bob Carter, will be the pilot.

“One of the main reasons I am getting into this is my father,” the singer said yesterday (Feb. 14) at the Miami International Boat Show. “It’s a dream come true for him.”

Carter said he recruited Lee Murray, a Key West racer known for his aggressive racing tactics, to be the boat’s throttleman. “It’s going to be a little difficult getting respect, because I am an entertainer,” he said. “But we’re going out there to win, not just to show off.”

The Carters live in the Florida Keys. They were introduced to high-speed offshore powerboat racing during last November’s Offshore World Championships in Key West. Nick Carter Racing will debut April 28 in Daytona Beach, Fla., then run in the Marathon Offshore Grand Prix May 17-19 in South Florida.

Before The Boys: 1989-1993 Track Listing:

  • Love Is a Wonderful Thing
  • More Today Than Yesterday
  • Rhythm of My Heart
  • Runaround Sue
  • Lights
  • Breaking Up Is Hard to Do
  • Jailhouse Rock
  • God Bless the U.S.A.
  • Uptown Girl
  • Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
  • Just a Gigolo/I Ain’t Got Nobody
  • Hard to Get
  • Summer!
  • The Star Spangled Banner
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more