metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Bloodhound Gang Strike Back

Yet another eclectic summer soundtrack looms, this time for director Kevin Smith’s forthcoming flick, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back. The compilation, due August 14th, mixes previously unreleased tracks from Stroke 9, the Bloodhound Gang, Soul Asylum’sBon Jovi, Morris Day and the Time and Steppenwolf.

The Bloodhound Gang”s contribution to Jay and Silent Bob, a track called “Jackass,” was previously tabbed for two other soundtracks this year. The number was originally written for the aborted soundtrack to MTV’s Jackass. It was then slated for inclusion on, then dropped from, the imminent American Pie II album before finding a home on Jay and Silent Bob.

The collection’s first single will be Stroke 9’s “Kick Some Ass,” with a video to be shot by Gregory Dark (Linkin Park, Crazy Town). Said track will also appear on Stroke 9’s forthcoming fourth album, due this fall. The album was recorded in Northern California earlier this year with producer Jerry Harrison, who also handled the band’s 1999 breakthrough Nasty Little Thoughts.

Pirner’s contribution, “Tube of Wonderful,” is an instrumental that initially appeared in the opening credits to Smith’s 1997 film, Chasing Amy, but because no soundtrack for the film was ever released, it remained unavailable.

The film, which will arrive in theaters on August 24th, is the final feature set in actor/director Smith’s so-called “View Askewniverse,” the others being Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy, and Dogma.

Track Listing For The Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back Soundtrack:

  • “Jay’s Rap 2001”
  • Stroke 9, “Kick Some Ass”
  • Afroman, “Because I Got High”
  • Morris Day And The Time, “Jungle Love”
  • Steppenwolf, “Magic Carpet Ride”
  • Marcy Playground,”The Devil Song”
  • PJ Harvey, “This Is Love”
  • Bob Schneider, “Big Blue Sea”
  • Bloodhound Gang, “Jackass”
  • Thomas Rusiak, “Hiphopper”
  • Dave Pirner, “Tube of Wonderful”
  • Bon Jovi, “Bad Medicine”
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more