metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Atlantic Records Team up to Release 'Sessions@AOL' Compilation CD

Collection of Exclusive, In-studio Sessions@AOL Recordings to Hit Streets October 14th

America Online, Inc., the world’s leading interactive services company, and Atlantic Records have announced the forthcoming release of Sessions@AOL, a compilation CD featuring some of the best performances from AOL(R) Music’s groundbreaking program, Sessions@AOL. Due in stores on October 14th, the album will feature tracks from a diverse array of talent, performed in small studios or rehearsal spaces where the artists had complete creative control over the delivery of their songs.

As a result of the unique settings in which these artists performed for AOL, the album includes rare recordings from chart-topping acts such as Coldplay playing a stripped down version of “The Scientist,” Avril Lavigne debuting “Mobile” with just an acoustic guitar months before her hit album Let Go came out and Lisa Marie Presley showcasing an acoustic version of “Sinking In.” The Sessions@AOL CD will also include a previously unreleased track featuring GRAMMY(R) Award-winning artist Alicia Keys performing a cover of Donny Hathaway’s “Someday We’ll All Be Free,” and will be enhanced to offer exclusive access to bonus material online, including video outtakes from these recording sessions.

“Sessions@AOL offers artists an intimate studio setting to perform in with no crowd. Some choose to strip down their arrangements, others just plug in and nail it in one take. The result is a collection of pure artistry, from some of the biggest names in music today,” said Evan Harrison, Vice President and General Manager, AOL Music. “This compilation CD of Sessions@AOL performances will allow even more music fans to experience these rare and original live versions of music performed by today’s most popular artists.”

“Artists love participating in Sessions@AOL, which gives them a unique platform to perform live for their fans in an intimate, one-to-one setting,” said Atlantic Senior Vice President of New Media Nikke Slight. “This terrific compilation reflects the great strength of the ‘Sessions’ brand, which continuously attracts top talent from across the spectrum of contemporary music. We at Atlantic are very pleased to be able to join with AOL Music to release these powerful live performances.”

As an online-enhanced CD, Sessions@AOL will enable consumers to access a special website offering exclusive content including additional music, video footage from the artists’ performances, discount offers and more. In addition, AOL members will have the first opportunity to preview the new album during a full-length CD Listening Party on AOL Music. AOL members can also watch these performances, as well as a special show being produced for FUSE, scheduled to air in late September.

Sessions@AOL’s exclusive live performances are recorded in intimate settings and feature interviews with questions submitted by music fans on AOL.

The Complete Track Listing Is:

  • Coldplay – The Scientist
  • Missy Elliott – Work It
  • Avril Lavigne – Mobile
  • Alicia Keys – Someday We’ll All Be Free
  • Michelle Branch – Are You Happy Now?
  • Nappy Roots – Awnaw
  • Jewel – Intuition
  • The Roots – Break You Off
  • Lil’ Kim – The Jump Off
  • New Found Glory – My Friends Over You
  • Vanessa Carlton – A Thousand Miles
  • Lisa Marie Presley – Sinking In
  • Wayne Wonder – No Letting Go
  • Gavin DeGraw – Follow Through
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more