metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins

idobi Radio

The Menzingers Announce New Album ‘Some Of It Was True’

The Menzingers have announced that they are going to be releasing a new full-length later this year. The band last shared a new album back in 2019 in the form of Hello Exile. That materialised into a reworked version titled From Exile. 2022 also saw them celebrate a decade of their seminal record On The Impossible Past with a series of demos and rarities unleashed into the world. But now it’s time for a whole new chapter in their incredible story, and an update on their view of the world.

The new album is going to be called Some Of It Was True and will be released on October 13 via Epitaph Records. Vocalist Greg Barnett had this to say about it and how their vision for it came together:

Written over the last two and a half years in hotels, backstages, basements, and rehearsal rooms and recorded during a life-changing retreat down south, ‘Some Of It Was True’ is the most realized version of what we set out to do when we started this band 17 years ago—have fun and be ourselves.” 

Read more: Something Corporate Announce When We Were Young Sideshow

The tracklisting for the record looks a lot like this:

01. “Hope is a Dangerous Little Thing”
02. “There’s No Place in This World for Me”
03. “Nobody Stays”
04. “Some of It Was True”
05. “Try”
06. “Come on Heartache”
07. “Ultraviolet”
08. Take It to Heart”
09. “Love at the End”
10. “Alone in Dublin”
11. “High Low”
12. “I Didn’t Miss You (Until You Were Gone)”
13. “Running in the Roar of the Wind”

And the artwork like this:

The Menzingers have also shared a new track, and it is as quintessential as it gets. It’s called “Hope Is A Dangerous Little Thing” and is as damning and downtrodden as you would want it to be. A heart-on-sleeve piece of punk-rock beauty, it is one hell of an album opening. Raw, real and relatable in every sense, it’s a welcome return from the band.

Read more: Best Ex Announces Debut Album ‘With A Smile’

You can also hear the previously released “There’s No Place In This World For Me” as well, which is just as fantastic:

The band have also announced that they were hitting the road for a huge headline tour. They will be joined by Microwave, Cloud Nothings and Rodeo Boys as well, and here are all the dates:

  • Nov 09 – Rochester, NY @ Water Street Music Hall 
  • Nov 10 – Boston, MA @  Roadrunner 
  • Nov 11 – New York, NY @ Knockdown Center 
  • Nov 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall 
  • Nov 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade 
  • Nov 15 – Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works 
  • Nov 16 – Cincinnati, OH @ Bogarts 
  • Nov 17 – Richmond, VA @ The National 
  • Nov 18 – Silver Spring, MD @ The Fillmore 
  • Nov 19 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Roxian Theatre 
  • Nov 24 – Columbus, OH @ The Athanaeum Theatre 
  • Nov 25 – Chicago, IL @ The Salt Shed 
  • Nov 26 – St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant 
  • Nov 28 – Dallas, TX @ Southside Music Hall 
  • Nov 29 – Austin, TX @ The Far Out 
  • Dec 01 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Nile 
  • Dec 02 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory 
  • Dec 03 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco 
  • Dec 05 – Berkeley, CA @ The UC Theatre 
  • Dec 06 – Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall 
  • Dec 07 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox SoDo 
  • Dec 08 – Vancouver, BC @ Harbour Convention Centre 
  • Dec 09 – Eugene, OR @ McDonald Theatre 
  • Dec 10 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades 
  • Dec 12 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Rockwell at The Complex 
  • Dec 13 – Denver, CO @ Mission Ballroom 
  • Dec 14 – Lawrence, KS @ Liberty Hall 
  • Dec 16 – Detroit, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre 
  • Dec 17 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall 
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more