metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Fresh Pressed [new music friday] – 208

What better way to kick off a weekend than with new music? Fridays are always chock full of the latest songs and albums ready to be the soundtrack to everyone’s antics, and here you’ll find some of the week’s standout releases. Whether you’re ready to spin an anticipated song from a favorite artist or just taking a look at what’s out there, there’s a whole lot of tunes to dive right into. Who knows—maybe you’ll find your next obsession.

All Time Low
“PMA” (feat. Pale Waves)

There’s never a dull moment in All Time Low’s new single “PMA”, even when it may be one of their most laid back songs of late. Frontman Alex Gaskarth’s lyrics gush with honesty, while the feature from UK act Pale Waves adds a different element vocally.

New Found Glory

Working with Cartel’s Will Pugh on a new set of songs has proven to work out well for pop-punk heroes New Found Glory. “Backseat” is classic NFG, catchy and has an absolute killer bridge.

Angels & Airwaves
“Losing My Mind”

The dancey grooves and Tom Delonge’s soaring vocals are undeniable on the new Angels & Airwaves track “Losing My Mind”. While most of what we’ve heard from Lifeforms, their new LP, gears toward certified rock anthems, Tom & Co. dish out a pop banger here.


There’s a lot going on with PVRIS’ new single “Monster” but what’s most important is: It’s all fantastic. After the pop pivot on last year’s Use Me, Lynn Gunn makes a massive leap musically with an aggressive tune featuring a flurry of synths. It’s going to bring the roof down when it’s played live.

Meet Me @ the Altar
“Brighter Days (Are Before Us)”

Meet Me @ the Altar gets better and better with each new song. Gearing up for their debut EP, out next month, “Brighter Days (Are Before Us)” is an optimistic rocker on the harder side musically but is evened out with an A+ vocal melody.

Luke Hemmings

Luke Hemmings’ solo venture keeps moving with the breezy “Motion”. He instantly proved he could make it as a lone wolf with the debut track “Starting Line”, but the classic pop tones of this new cut helps to further mold his signature sound into something bold and exciting.

“Lay Me to Rest”

Ska-punk legends Zebrahead are unstoppable when they mash together a melodic chorus, frantic verses, and an explosive guitar solo. It’s what “Lay Me to Rest” is all about, and it also rings in their celebration of 25 years as a band. Sounds like the best is yet to come.

Dan + Shay

There’s a weird amount of soulfulness to Dan + Shay’s latest track “Lying”. If you’re expecting an extremely infectious country-pop song, you’ve clicked play on the right one. It’s got more twang than usual and is pretty refreshing for a D+S tune.

Billie Eilish
Happier Than Ever

Sophomore slump be damned; Billie Eilish perfects her craft on Happier Than Ever. The confident yet vulnerable LP is spread out across multiple styles, incorporating jazzy ballads followed by cuts headlined by dark electronic beats.

Silk Sonic

Silk Sonic, aka Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak, said they wouldn’t release another song ’til “Leave the Door Open” got overplayed. They weren’t kidding. It makes sense, since their new song “Skate” will have no problem taking its spot on the charts—the love letter to 70s R&B is produced beautifully and has that swagger the duo brings to the table so easily.

Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night

Jack Antonoff might find most of his success in his work with other artists, but his solo stuff in Bleachers is where he saves the best writing and producing he has to offer. His third full-length, Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night, packs endless 80s-nostalgia pop anthems (“Don’t Go Dark”) alongside vintage acoustic ballads (“Strange Behavior”).

Welcome 2 America

The first real posthumous album from Prince arrives in the form of Welcome 2 America. Originally created in 2010, the unearthed record is devoid of demos or old ideas from the 80s—it’s instead a full LP and it shows. It’s ripe with social commentary and timely concepts, making its release now all the more meaningful.

Other new releases:
Dolly Parton – “Sent From Above”
Aly & AJ – “I Need My Girl”
Monsta X – “Kiss or Death”
Third Eye Blind – “Box of Bones”
Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! – Gone are the Good Days
Logic – Bobby Tarantino III
BANNERS – It’s Gonna Be Ok EP
Creeper – American Noir
Raleigh Ritchie – “Say What You Mean”
UPSAHL – “Time of My Life”
Jungle – “Truth”
Alok & John Legend – “In My Mind”
Clean Bandit x Topic – “Drive (feat. Wes Nelson)”
Sleigh Bells – “Locust Laced”
Dermot Kennedy – “Better Days”
Skepta, J Balvin – “Nirvana”
Don Diablo, Galantis – “Tears For Later”
Jackson Wang, Internet Money – “Drive You Home”
DallasK – “Try Again (featuring Lauv)”
Mark Ronson – Watch the Sound (Official Soundtrack)
MØ – Kindness
Nao – “And Then Life Was Beautiful”
IV JAY – “Vibrate (feat. Pink Sweat$)”
NEEDTOBREATHE – Into The Mystery
Serena Isioma – “Really, Really”
Arlo Parks – “Too Good (Unknown Mortal Orchestra Remix)”
Zella Day – “Golden”
Amber Run – “I’m Tired”
Des Rocs – “MMC”


Related Content

We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more