metal + hardcore
pop punk + alt-rock
indie spins


Broadside Have Us Feeling “Bleu” In Soul-Stirring New Single

Broadside Bleu
[Photo via YouTube]

Reminiscent of their 2017 hit “Summer Stained,” Broadside has delivered a gut-punch, soul-stirring new single, “Bleu.” The new single shares its namesake’s sentiments with the band’s forthcoming full-length album Hotel Bleu, which will arrive via SharpTone Records on November 10.

The heart-rendering track found its inspiration in the personal journey of vocalist Oliver Baxxter and his fiancé, who received the life-altering and devastating news of her breast cancer diagnosis. Baxxter’s deliberate croons, each word charged with the heartfelt anguish the two felt after receiving her diagnosis, are highlighted against a gentle acoustic guitar, only further elevating the emotional depth of the track.

Read more: Roe Kapara Unveils His Dance-Worthy New Single, “Fajita!”

“’Bleu’ is a song I wrote about my fiancé,” shares Baxxter. “A phone call changed our lives as the doctor on the other line said a prayer after he gave us the news that the tumor in her chest was breast cancer. We cried on the living room floor for two days after that until, eventually, we found the strength to call our family and friends. I couldn’t accept that someone who I’d lived and breathed with every day was about to endure one of the most demanding challenges of her life. ‘Bleu’ is a love letter to anyone who has ever experienced the sudden realization of such an unforgiving and cruel disease.”

In a press release, Baxxter made the decision to share multiple resources for breast cancer research in hopes that those who have gone through a similar experience or those who know a loved one battling breast cancer can find solace and comfort knowing they’re not alone. You can read more about these resources here.

Today, November 1, Broadside kicks off their U.S. tour with support from This Wild Life, Worry Club, and Not My Weekend. The tour will run through December 9 and wrap up in San Antonio, TX. You can get tickets to see Broadside live on the Tour Story here.

Tour Dates:

  • Nov. 1—Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
  • Nov. 2—San Diego, CA @ SOMA Sidestage
  • Nov. 4—Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent Theater
  • Nov. 5—Fresno, CA @ Strummer’s
  • Nov. 7—Berkeley, CA @ Cornerstone Craft Beer & Live Music
  • Nov. 8—Roseville, CA @ Goldfield Trading Post Roseville
  • Nov. 10—Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre
  • Nov. 11—Seattle, WA @ El Corazon
  • Nov. 13—Salt Lake City, UT @ Soundwell
  • Nov. 14—Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater
  • Nov. 16—St. Louis, MO @ Old Rock House
  • Nov. 17—Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge
  • Nov. 18—Detroit, MI @ The Blind Pig
  • Nov. 19—Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s
  • Nov. 21—Pittsburgh, PA @ Thunderbird Café
  • Nov. 22—Rochester, NY @ Montage Music Hall
  • Nov. 24—Allston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
  • Nov. 25—New York, NY @ Gramercy Theatre
  • Nov. 26—Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore Philadelphia
  • Nov. 28—Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
  • Nov. 29—Richmond, VA @ Canal Club
  • Nov. 30—Greensboro, NC @ Hangar 1819
  • Dec. 1—Orlando, FL @ Level 13 Event Center
  • Dec. 2—Atlanta, GA @ The Loft
  • Dec. 4—Nashville, TN @ Exit/In
  • Dec. 7—Oklahoma City, OK @ Beer City Music Hall
  • Dec. 8—Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater
  • Dec. 9—San Antonio, TX @ Vibes Event Center
We utilize cookie technology to collect data regarding the number of visits a person has made to our site. This data is stored in aggregate form and is in no way singled out in an individual file. This information allows us to know what pages/sites are of interest to our users and what pages/sites may be of less interest. See more